top of page

Photo Editing Project Report



  • Audience/Purpose: describe the intended audience of your photo edited image(s); what are you trying to communicate to this audience?

My primary audience for this image is 25-30-year-olds of either gender, who are interested in finding love because that is around the age the frontal lobe has finished developing and people are mature enough to take these tricks, but not abuse them. Also, this doesn't necessarily mean they are looking for the person they are going to marry, but it could just be people looking to start something because they think it might be fun. If it happens to lead to marriage then that's nice too. The purpose of the image is to show that knowing psychological tricks can help one understand something as complex as the brain when talking about love. These people are likely tired of being alone and want to experience that "out of world" love. This image is giving that romantic feeling that could be achieved if it happens to work out. However, it is important to note that results can vary, meaning that using these tricks does not guarantee anything will come from it, unfortunately. It is a hit or miss, but if you are willing to be bold and take a risk then it can definitely pay off in the end.


  • Image(s): how do features of the image(s) effectively convey the message to your audience?

The features of this image convey several messages. First, it makes it clear that something is complex like a puzzle. In this case, I am referring to the brain, which I added to appear as if it were a planet in motion. There is a lot of research and studies that back up the idea that certain ways of acting or communicating with someone can get them to like you back, such as extended periods of eye contact which is evident through my image. The heartbeats shown beside the pair demonstrate that when people fall in love, their heartbeats align. This is definitely a positive sign if you get to that stage. Lastly, I added the water drops in order to express the fact that love can be messy, but that doesn't mean you give up on one another. Arguing is normal and healthy because it can actually help strengthen a couple's bond if handled correctly. Effective communication, listening with an open mind, and seeing things from their perspective are very important and present in the pair pictured.



  • Process: what did you do to create the photo edited image(s) in this project?

This image required 47 layers to create. There are several components I incorporated into it; the main ones being the space background, the brain, the couple, the raindrops, the heartbeats, and the puzzle pieces. To begin, I adjusted the exposure and vibrance on the image of space so that it wasn't so bright as to take the attention off of the rest of the piece. Next, I cut out a picture of the couple, darkened it to stand out, and used the brush tool to elongate the body a little more than how it originally was. After that, I cut out a brain, softened its look, and added a motion effect. Following this, I looked for some puzzle pieces, cut out a few, and started scattering them around the image to create the illusion of an actual puzzle. This included changing their sizes and rotating them so they aren't all straight. With the heartbeats, I cut them, flipped one horizontally, and placed them according to my interpretation of them. Finally, I used small, black text to make the warning at the bottom of the picture so that it is clear that if you attempt to use any tricks on someone do not say I didn't warn you at the end of the day.


  • Learning: what did you learn from working on this project–for example, about Photoshop, about design, about communication, about yourself?

This project taught me that I can be incredibly creative with this software. I've always wanted to learn how to use it, so this class allows me to do so after many years of curiosity. From an outsider's point of view, photoshop seemed scary and difficult to comprehend, but I now know the basics of how to use tools effectively, as well as how to create something that expresses a deeper meaning. I got to learn that I genuinely find editing photos fun and beneficial, even more so because I have several pictures on my Canon that can use some editing. That being said, there is still a lot of room for improvement, but as of now, I am just happy learning something new and being able to apply it to a hobby of mine.


  • Next: what will you do the same/differently on the next project?

For the next project, I will definitely be reusing the blending feature since many unexpected images usually come from it that end up looking amazing. I also liked dealing with several layers at a time because each piece was distinct from the whole. This made it easy for me whenever I wanted to get rid of only one part, rather than having to mess with the image entirely. I would also like to use text and its effects next time, but not too much of it so the image or video speaks for itself. Finally, I will dedicate more time outside of class to get a good grasp on all the amazing features that photoshop has to offer and take advantage of them. I will try to avoid using aggressive filters because I don't end up liking it in the end. Instead, I will use soft and subtle filters and effects that give the final product a more natural finish.





bottom of page