top of page

Interactive Project Report



  • Audience/Purpose: describe the intended audience of your project; what are you trying to communicate to this audience?

The intended audience for my interactive project is fans of The Weeknd. Every time he has a tour, I always try to get my hands on a ticket, but unfortunately have never been able to attend. Last year I bought one to see him in LA, but he had to cancel his tour due to COVID. I got a refund, but it was slightly disappointing since I have been a big fan since 2011. Anyways, I made this story map to show the stops The Weekend had to take during his tour in order; he went from Canada and ended up in Florida. I've always wondered how artists' journeys look, so putting it on a map makes it really easy to visualize it. It is also interesting to know what venue they're performing in because we can note how many tickets were sold, and how much revenue was made. Finally, I found it fascinating how fast they move from place to place. One day he can have a show in the United States, and the next be in Canada. The other video I made showed the same thing, but in a fun and cartoony format.


  • Image(s): how do features of the project effectively convey the message to your audience?

I tried to make the information on the slides very straightforward and organized so that the audience would be able to grasp it without any difficulties. I wish I could've changed the color of the text so that it stood out more from some of the background colors, but I think it's still visible enough to read. I chose those colors specifically because they matched the main photo. I also made the location of the show the main title because everything that followed had to do with that spot. For example, the venue was the marker, and the amount made was for that show only. In the other animation, I had to drag a line to each place by hand because it didn't automatically pinpoint them, as well as name each place. I also got to pick what motive of transportation to use after each stop, which is why sometimes it is a bus and other times it changes into a plane. It is really neat that at the end of the video, it zooms out to show the entire passage.

  • Process: what did you do to create this project?

To create this project, I looked up the entire tour locations, mapped them out, and then went in with the number of people who attended each venue and the revenue they brought in. The markers are pictures of the venue itself, and the main photos are also from that exact show. They are not just pictures of him, but a picture of him performing that day and year in that venue. It took a long time to look for, download, and upload all of these images, but I think the result makes it worth it. I like that the pictures showed how passionate he is when he sings, as well as the facial expressions that come from it. Another part of the project that took some time was having to search up the address of each venue individually, especially when there were over twenty of them.

  • Learning: what did you learn from working on this project?

I learned how to make a visual that can display the information I am trying to give in a more engaging way. I didn't know that this website existed, but it turned out to be very useful for all sorts of things. For instance, if I were to have seen this information in a chart, I don't think I would be as captivated to keep reading. As a visual learner, I think this story map helps me follow the journey he took to give all his fans a show. It seems tiring to go through all that in a matter of months, but it is clear that he enjoys it, while at the same time bringing him in a lot of money. Millions of dollars for a single show sound insane, but that is what the records show. I also learned how to use another app called TravelBoast, which technically does the same thing, but does it animatedly. That one doesn't have any information because it is just an addition to the main project.

bottom of page